North Carolina is one of the few states that follows the law of contributory negligence. This means that a plaintiff (driver) who is partially at fault in an accident, is barred from recovery for any injuries sustained in said accident. However, if the defendant (at-fault driver) saw the plaintiff in a perilous situation, had the “last clear chance” to avoid the accident and failed to do so, the plaintiff can still recover damages. For this reason, it is important to have someone fighting for you if you’re involved in an accident.
If you’re injured in a car accident through no fault of your own, contact us for a free consultation today. We will help you with guidance and help you assess your case. Once we decide to work together; we will pursue your case and fight to get you the settlement you deserve. Our office will coordinate with your medical providers during your treatment period and make sure you are getting the best possible care and that all of your records and bills are forwarded to our office. Once you are released from treatment, we will fight to get the best possible settlement on your behalf. If we need to file a lawsuit on your behalf, we have no problem taking your case to court!
At GRW-LAW, “we protect the injured and counsel the unsure” through purpose driven service.
Did you know the minimum limit of coverage in the state of North Carolina is only $30,000.00 per individual and $60,000.00 per accident? This means if you’re involved in a car accident, there is a good chance the person who hits you will have a minimum limits policy. If you’re seriously injured, there may not be enough coverage from the at-fault driver to meet your needs.
To address this issue, make sure that you add Underinsured Motorist (UIM) and Uninsured Motorist Coverage (UM) to your policy. I would suggest at least $100,000 of coverage in this area. UM and UIM coverage is available if you are hit by an uninsured driver or a driver that has a minimum limits policy. This way, you will not be limited to the coverage amount of the at-fault driver.
Additionally, adding Medical Payments (MedPay) to your auto policy is a great idea. This provides immediate cash to cover medical needs during the time it takes your case to settle. MedPay is typically available starting at $1,000 up to $5,000 per person per accident. MedPay is available to anyone injured while a driver or passenger in your insured vehicle. The cost to add these coverages may be less than a typical lunch at your favorite restaurant, but it is well worth the cost if you ever need it.
Photographs – If you’re able, taking pictures at the scene of the accident could be very helpful to your case. It not only catalogs the damage done to your vehicle as well as the other vehicle, it could also help paint the picture of how the accident occurred. These photos will be extremely valuable during the settlement proceedings.
Journal - Keeping a daily journal of your treatment progress will also be helpful. This will track your recovery process from the worst point and track your progress back to hopefully, full recovery. This will help as we detail the impact the accident had on your daily routine as well as that of your family.
Lost Wages – We will provide you with documentation for your employer to complete that will account for time you have missed from work as a result of the accident. This will become part of your claim for damages.
Statements – DO NOT MAKE ANY STATEMENTS admitting to fault at the scene of the accident. Do not excuse the other driver for hitting you or admit that you could have avoided the accident. Statements such as this could prevent you from recovering any damages for your injuries.